Balkan Peninsula Countries

Here are the countries we have visited in the Balkan Peninsula.


The Republic of Albania is a country in Southeast Europe on the Adriatic and Ionian Sea within the Mediterranean Sea.

The modern nation state of Albania emerged in 1912 following the defeat of the Ottomans in the Balkan Wars. The country experienced widespread social and political transformations in the communist era, as well as isolation from much of the international community. In the aftermath of the Revolutions of 1991, the Socialist Republic was dissolved and the Republic of Albania was established.

View from the Clock Tower: Skanderbeg Square, Tirana

We visited Tirana and Shkodra in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in the Balkan Peninsula.

Bosnia & Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina is an almost landlocked country except for a narrow coast at the Adriatic Sea, about 20 km long surrounding the town of Neum. Bosnia and Herzegovina, a triangle shaped republic, is about the size of Kentucky, on the Balkan peninsula.  The Bosnian region in the north is mountainous and covered with thick forests. The Herzegovina region in the south is largely rugged, flat farmland.

Stari Most (Old Bridge), Mostar

We visited Sarajevo and Mostar in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in the Balkan Peninsula.


Since adopting a democratic constitution in 1991, Bulgaria has been a unitary parliamentary republic.  The population of seven million lives mainly in Sofia, the capital cities of the 27 provinces.

Alexander Nevsky Cathedral has a capacity of 7,000 worshipers

We visited Sofia in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in the Balkan Peninsula.


Croatia is a republic governed under a parliamentary system and a developed country with a very high standard of living. It declared independence from the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in June 1991.

Kayaking around the old wall city in Dubrovnik is a popular activity

We visited the cities Zagreb, Split, Zadar, Dubrovnik,  and Plitvice Lake National Park in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in the Balkan Peninsula.


Greece is considered the cradle of Western civilization, being the birthplace of democracy, Western philosophy, Western literature, historiography, political science, major scientific and mathematical principles, and Western drama, as well as the Olympic Games.

Greece was annexed by Rome in the second century BC, becoming an integral part of the Roman Empire and its successor, the Byzantine Empire. Falling under Ottoman dominion in the mid-15th century, the modern nation state of Greece emerged in 1830 following a war of independence.

Sunset in Fira

We visited Athens & Sounion in 1984 during our 9 country whirlwind tour of Western Europe, and again when we visited Athens, Meteora, and Santorini in 2015.


Officially called the Republic of Kosovo, it is a partially recognized state and disputed territory in Southeastern Europe. On 17 February 2008, Kosovo unilaterally declared its independence from Serbia. It has since gained diplomatic recognition as a sovereign state by 113 UN member states.

The Newborn sign, Pristina

We visited Pristina in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in Balkan Peninsula.


The country became a member of the United Nations in 1993, but had an ongoing dispute with Greece over the use of the name Macedonia.  On 17 June 2018, Macedonia and Greece signed the Prespa agreement which would see the country change its name to the Republic of North Macedonia.

Skopje, the capital of Macedonia

We visited Skopje and Ohrid in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in Balkan Peninsula.


After World War I, it became part of Yugoslavia. Following the breakup of Yugoslavia, the republics of Serbia and Montenegro together established a federation known as the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro. On the basis of an independence referendum held in May 2006, Montenegro declared independence and the federation peacefully dissolved on 3 June of that year.

Shkodra, capital city of Montenegro

We visited Shkodra, PodgoricaKotor, and Herceg Novi in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in Balkan Peninsula.


Following disastrous casualties in World War I, and the subsequent unification of the former Habsburg empire with Serbia, the country co-founded Yugoslavia with other South Slavic peoples, which would exist in various political formations until the Yugoslav Wars of the 1990s. During the breakup of Yugoslavia, Serbia formed a union with Montenegro, which was peacefully dissolved in 2006, but Serbia does not recognize Kosova when it unilaterally declared independence from Serbia in 2008.

Awaiting sunset, confluence of the Sava and Danube rivers, Belgrade

We visited the Belgrade and Nis in 2014 when we toured 9 countries in Balkan Peninsula.

See next – Russia and the Caucasus Countries 

Theme by Anders Norén